THE ARCHITECTURE OF GRACE CHURCH
The present church, completed during the summer of 1965, replaced a smaller frame building that stood on the corner of 4th and Sprague from 1897 to 1964. The former church was built to reflect the centuries-old tradition of the liturgy as something performed by “professionals” – the clergy – alone. Laity were simply spectators.
The current church takes us back to the principles of early Christian worship, fully embracing an involved and participatory laity. It was designed by the firm of Durham, Anderson and Freed of Seattle, with input by Louis Kollmeyer, a professor of art at CWU., so as to allow the form of the church to be decided by the function of the liturgy that takes place within.
The pulpit and altar represent both the outward thrust and inward concern of the Christian community. The Christian family gathers around the altar for its “family meal”, the Eucharist. Both the pulpit and altar stand in relationship to the massive cross; neither dominate except when the liturgy action takes place at one or the other. The eagle lectern which serves as the pulpit and the priest’s kneeler were taken from the original church and are characteristic of the nineteenth century.
VESSELS AND VESTMENTS
Our sacramental vessels and vestments for worship are acquired through memorials to those who have gone before us in faith. We “worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness”, and so seek to make everything we use in worship reflect the highest possible craftsmanship and design. Unique works include a variety of handmade chasubles and stoles. The copper chalice and paten and the stand for the copper baptismal font were made by local artist Renee Adams.